

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

LOS ANGELES FILM CRITICS ASSOCIATION ANNOUNCE 2020 AWARD WINNERS

Los Angeles, December 20, 2020 – The Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA) has named "Small Axe" as Best Picture of the Year, it was announced today by Claudia Puig, President of LAFCA.

"We are so thrilled to honor the unprecedented, resonant and masterful 'Small Axe,' Steve McQueen's quintet of thematically linked films," said LAFCA President Claudia Puig. "And we are also honored to award the artistry of a wonderfully diverse and massively talented group of winning filmmakers. Particularly notable in a year when the film industry took a huge blow, our winners reflect extraordinary achievement."

As previously announced, the Los Angeles Film Critics Association chose director/screenwriter/producer/actor Hou Hsiao-Hsien and singer/songwriter/activist/actor Harry Belafonte as the recipients of this year's Career Achievement Awards, and chose actor/producer/director Norman Lloyd as the recipient of the Legacy Award.

Award winners are:

PICTURE: **SMALL AXE**

Runner-up: NOMADLAND

DIRECTOR: Chloe Zhao, NOMADLAND
Runner-up: Steve McQueen, SMALL AXE

ACTOR: Chadwick Boseman, MA RAINEY'S BLACK BOTTOM

Runner-up: Riz Ahmed, SOUND OF METAL

ACTRESS: Carey Mulligan, PROMISING YOUNG WOMAN Runner-up: Viola Davis, MA RAINEY'S BLACK BOTTOM

SUPPORTING ACTOR: Glynn Turman, MA RAINEY'S BLACK BOTTOM

Runner-up: Paul Raci, SOUND OF METAL

SUPPORTING ACTRESS: Youn Yuh-jung, MINARI

Runner-up: Amanda Seyfried, MANK

SCREENPLAY: Emerald Fennell, PROMISING YOUNG WOMAN Runner-up: Eliza Hittman, NEVER RARELY SOMETIMES ALWAYS

ANIMATION: WOLFWALKERS

Runner-up: **SOUL**

FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM: BEANPOLE

Runner-up: MARTIN EDEN

DOCUMENTARY / NON-FICTION FILM: TIME

Runner-up: **COLLECTIVE**

NEW GENERATION: Radha Blank, THE 40-YEAR-OLD-VERSION

FILM EDITING: Yorgos Lamprinos, THE FATHER

Runner-up: Gabriel Rhodes, TIME

CINEMATOGRAPHY: **SMALL AXE**, **Shabier Kirchner** Runner-up: **NOMADLAND**, **Joshua James Richards**

PRODUCTION DESIGN: Donald Graham Burt, MANK

Runner-up: Sergey Ivanov, BEANPOLE

MUSIC/SCORE: **SOUL**Runner-up: **LOVERS ROCK**

DOUGLAS E. EDWARDS INDEPENDENT/EXPERIMENTAL FILM/VIDEO: John Gianvito's HER

SOCIALIST SMILE

CAREER ACHIEVEMENT: Hou Hsiao-Hsien and Harry Belafonte

LEGACY AWARD: Norman Lloyd

Due to COVID-19, the annual Los Angeles Film Critics Association awards ceremony will not be

held this year.

#####

About LAFCA:

camera.

Founded in 1975, the Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA) is composed of Los Angelesbased professional film critics working in the Los Angeles print and electronic media. LAFCA members hold their annual awards vote, honoring screen excellence on both sides of the

Aside from honoring each year's outstanding cinematic achievements, LAFCA has also made it a point to look back and pay tribute to distinguished industry veterans with its annual Career Achievement Award, which is announced in October, as well as to look forward by spotlighting fresh, promising talent with its annual New Generation Award. In addition, over the past three decades, LAFCA has sponsored and hosted numerous film panels and events and donated funds to various Los Angeles film organizations, especially where film preservation was concerned. LAFCA members have also collectively been vocal about taking up causes they have felt passionate about, from drafting formal protests against censorship and colorization to lending their support to controversial films. For more information, please visit www.lafca.net.

For a full list of voting members, visit: http://www.lafca.net/members.html

Please also find the winners via Twitter: <u>@lafilmcritics</u>, or on <u>www.lafca.net</u>.

Press Contact:

Lisa Bustamante

lbustamante@mprm.com