Emel Shaikh

mPRm Public Relations


LOS ANGELES, DECEMBER 11, 2011 – "The Descendants" was voted Best Picture of the Year, it was announced today by Brent Simon, President of the Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA).  The runner up was "The Tree of Life".
"I think the diversity of the slate of our winners indicates the fact that there are a broad range of films this year that struck a chord with critics, in various ways," says Simon. "In particular, our selections of Yun Jung-Hee's lead performance for 'Poetry' and Asghar Farhadi's screenplay for 'A Separation' show LAFCA's continuing commitment to looking beyond its borders for the best performances and films of the year. Likewise, the Chemical Brothers' bristling, innovative score for 'Hanna,' which alternately gurgles, throbs and pulsates, sounding at times like a Madhatter's rave, is exceptionally imaginative work that, like last year's Best Music/Score selection of 'The Social Network''s soundtrack from Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross, expands upon staid notions of film scoring."
The 37th annual Los Angeles Film Critics Association awards ceremony will be held Friday, January 13 at the InterContinental, Los Angeles. As previously announced, Doris Day will receive the 2011 Career Achievement Award.
Award winners are:
PICTURE: "The Descendants"
Runner-up: "The Tree of Life"
DIRECTOR: Terrence Malick, "The Tree of Life"
Runner-up: Martin Scorsese, "Hugo"
ACTOR: Michael Fassbender, "A Dangerous Method", "Jane Eyre", "Shame", "X-Men: First Class"
Runner-up: Michael Shannon, "Take Shelter"
ACTRESS: Yun Jung-hee, "Poetry"
Runner-up:  Kirsten Dunst, "Melancholia"
SUPPORTING ACTOR: Christopher Plummer, "Beginners"
Runner-up: Patton Oswalt, "Young Adult"
SUPPORTING ACTRESS: Jessica Chastain, "Coriolanus", "The Debt", "The Help", "Take Shelter", "Texas Killing Fields", "Tree of Life"
Runner-up: Janet McTeer, "Albert Nobbs"

SCREENPLAY: Asghar Farhadi, "A Separation"
Runner-up: Alexander Payne, Nat Faxon, Jim Rash, "The Descendants"
Runner-Up: "The Adventures of Tintin: The Secret of the Unicorn"
FOREIGN LANGUAGE FILM: "City of Life and Death"
Runner-up: "A Separation"
DOCUMENTARY / NON-FICTION FILM: "Cave of Forgotten Dreams"
Runner-up: "The Arbor"
NEW GENERATION: Antonio Campos, Sean Durkin, Josh Mond, Elizabeth Olsen, "Martha Marcy May Marlene"
CINEMATOGRAPHY: Emmanuel Lubezki, "The Tree of Life"
Runner-up: Cao Yu, "City of Life and Death"
PRODUCTION DESIGN: Dante Ferretti, "Hugo"
Runner-up: Maria Djurkovic, "Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy"
MUSIC/SCORE: The Chemical Brothers, "Hanna"
Runner-up: Cliff Martinez, "Drive"
Director Alexander Payne's Best Picture victory for "The Descendants" represents the filmmaker's record seventh award from LAFCA. He previously won Best Picture, Best Director and Best Screenplay (shared) for "Sideways," and Best Picture and Best Screenplay (shared) for "About Schmidt," as well as sharing the New Generation award with writer Jim Taylor in 1999 for his work on "Election" and "Citizen Ruth."
This is Werner Herzog's second LAFCA prize for documentary/nonfiction film.  He previously won in 2005 for "Grizzly Man." Additionally, this is Emmanuel Lubezki's second LAFCA prize for cinematography.  He previously won in 2006 for "Children of Men."
This is the first time LAFCA has awarded its screenplay award to a foreign-language film.
Founded in 1975, The Los Angeles Film Critics Association (LAFCA) is comprised of Los Angeles-based, professional film critics working in the Los Angeles print and electronic media.  Each December, LAFCA members vote on the year's Achievement Awards, honoring screen excellence on both sides of the camera. Plaques of recognition are then presented to winners during LAFCA's annual awards ceremony, held in mid-January.
Aside from honoring each year's outstanding cinematic achievements, LAFCA has also made it a point to look back and pay tribute to distinguished industry veterans with its annual Career Achievement Award, which is announced in October, as well as to look forward by spotlighting fresh, promising talent with its annual New Generation Award.  In addition, over the past three decades, LAFCA has sponsored and hosted numerous film panels and events and donated funds to various Los Angeles film organizations, especially where film preservation was concerned.  LAFCA members have also collectively been vocal about taking up causes they have felt passionate about, from drafting formal protests against censorship and colorization to lending their support to controversial films.
Please also find the winners via Twitter @lafilmcritics (http://twitter.com/LAFilmCritics)


  Copyright 2007 - LAFCA - All Rights reserved